Experiment Day: Baking with Splenda

8 Mar

Today I experimented a bit with diabetic baking with Splenda. I made my Pineapple Right-Side Up cupcakes and though they presented just like my standard recipe using sugar, they were quite dense. The flavour and texture were okay, but not as good as I would like. The topping was sweetened with Splenda and turned out just perfect. With a little bit of research and more trials, I think this is a recipe I can make work, but I will keep you posted. I’m hoping to give agave nectar (which is has a lower glycemic index than sugar) a whirl in my next attempt at a diabetic-friendly cupcake. I know that some of my customers would like to see some diabetic-friendly options and my goal is to make a cupcake for you that is so good, you won’t miss sugar.

Leave a Reply

